Love Letter in Ten Bullet Points

July 25, 2014

In our fast-paced culture, we’re often busy rushing from activity to activity or trying to reach our next goal. Working hard is a great trait to have, but sometimes it makes us forget to appreciate the little things until they’re gone. Here’s a love letter in ten bullet points to the special people I live with everyday.

Dearest Wife,

  • I love the way you tell me about cool, new movies in the theatre and then go see them with me.
  • I love the way you crazy dance with the kids.
  • I love the way you get tense after watching a zombie show.
  • I love the way you read before falling asleep.
  • I love the way you walk up the front porch of the house.
  • I love the way you do good dream car wash with the kids.
  • I love the way you put cough drops on your nightstand.
  • I love the way you end your emails to me in xoxo.
  • I love the way you love Anna’s burritos.
  • I love the way you are.

Dearest Stepson,

  • I love the way you laugh at fireworks.
  • I love the way you deepen your voice when talking as stuffed animals.
  • I love the way you act like a dinosaur and eat whole trees (broccoli).
  • I love the way you show me how long a snake or worm (spaghetti) is.
  • I love the way you pretend your mouth is a scary cave when brushing.
  • I love the way you put on shoes.
  • I love the way you make trucks out of clay and then smash them.
  • I love the way you build block towers taller than yourself.
  • I love the way you say “goodbye train, see you next year!”
  • I love the way you run.

Dearest Daughter,

  • I love the way you hold my hand when walking down the stairs.
  • I love the way you hug me in the morning before I go to work.
  • I love the way you put up two fingers like \m/
  • I love the way you run through the yard barefoot.
  • I love the way you pick and eat veggies from the garden as you walk.
  • I love the way you play hide by putting a blanket over your head.
  • I love the way you ask me if I’m going to the farm whenever I’m wearing plaid.
  • I love the way you eat blueberries.
  • I love the way you say you want two of everything.
  • I love the way you smile.

Dearest Mother-in-law,

  • I love the way you open the door in the morning with a smile on your face.
  • I love the way you send me images and videos of the kids during the day.
  • I love the way you put a glass water bottle on the table.
  • I love the way you phone your brothers and sisters.
  • I love the way you bring us fresh greens.
  • I love the way you laugh when the kids say funny things.
  • I love the way you nourish us with home-cooked meals.
  • I love the way you yawn before retiring for the night.
  • I love the way you tend the garden.
  • I love the way you talk.

Dearest Father-in-law,

  • I love the way you remind me on Mondays that it’s trash day.
  • I love the way you remind me every other Monday that it’s recycle day.
  • I love the way you change the furnace air filter in our house.
  • I love the way you watch classic rock music videos on your phone.
  • I love the way you get the mail everyday.
  • I love the way you mow the lawn with your hat on.
  • I love the way you share interesting magazine articles.
  • I love the way you eat cereal.
  • I love the way you joke about everything.
  • I love the way you drive.

To the little things, I love you for making life worth living.

Leave a Reply

