Joining Apitronics

March 28, 2014

I studied Computer Science in college. My mom always nudged me to study another field, but I never did. At the time, I didn’t understand, thinking CS was both intellectually stimulating and career-marketable. My “aha moment” didn’t happen until arriving at Practically Green. Working at this mission-driven startup, I learned so much about the world we live in, system dynamics, our culture, and most importantly, myself. Technology is great, but it’s our interrelated cosmology, social/economic structures, and resources that reminds me this Jeff Goldblum quote from Jurassic Park:

‘..your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn’t stop to think if they should.’

To this end, I’m excited to announce I’ll be joining early stage startup Apitronics to work on appropriate technology to further our shared mission of improving agricultural systems. Working out of Greentown Labs in Somerville, MA (come visit us), Apitronics builds the internet of things for farming. Here’s our Kickstarter from last year to help describe the platform. If you know of any farmers in the area, please shoot me a note; I’d love to get to know them. Let the marathon begin!

archectiture
Apitronics platform

Leave a Reply

