Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress

August 19, 2008

Fresh off the press, just finished coding a tool to that will export all the posts in your Tumblr blog into an XML file. You can then import that XML file into your WordPress.com blog or self-hosted WordPress blog.

Please leave a comment here if you have questions, suggestions, feedback, requests, and/or bug reports.

Tumblr2WordPress: Export Your Tumblr To WordPress

231 Responses to “Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress”

  1. pixelbits Says:

    Hao, thank you SO much for this, omg!!!!!


  2. [...] Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress « Web 0.2 – Hao Chen (tags: tumblr wordpress) « links for 2008-08-21 [...]

  3. ylon Says:

    So the corollary to this is a WordPress plugin that will keep WP posts up to date from Tumblr entries. Interesting.


  4. [...] like to see something for some cross pollination now regarding keeping the two services in sync: Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress « Web 0.2 – Hao Chen. I’ve fiddled with Tumblr a little, but ended up giving in to WordPress, but would not mind [...]


  5. the link seems to be down right now

  6. Hao Chen Says:

    Sometimes, it gives a PHP access violation, but if you refresh again, it usually comes up. It’s weird.

  7. rosslife Says:

    worked great – thanks!


  8. So which import method (in the WordPress admin Import tab) should one use with the resulting XML file? I don’t see any import method for “XML file”.

  9. Hao Chen Says:

    @George, import as a WordPress type.

  10. Laura Says:

    thank you so much, this worked amazingly, on one try!

  11. Hao Chen Says:

    Laura, you’re very welcome!

  12. Stusia Says:

    Занимаюсь дизайном и хочу попросить автора haochen.wordpress.com отправить шаьлончик на мой мыил) Готов заплатить…

  13. armand Says:

    actually its up, thanks a million!

  14. damncrew Says:

    it asks for a tumblr username, what is the user name? i dont remember tumblr having user names, only emails.

  15. damncrew Says:

    nevermind, i got it. haha

  16. bge Says:

    I have a lot of images with click-though links: the images come through but not the links themselves?

  17. enzoajello Says:

    hello. my tumbler name is enzoajello but when i use the tool it brings back the feed from enzo.tumblr.com, not enzoajello.tumblr.com. any ideas?

  18. willwrk4peace Says:

    is my username whatever is before .tumblr.com???

  19. bigscottyrogers Says:

    I can get these to import to a temporary WordPress.com blog, but not my wordpress blog hosted my ReadyHosting.

    It worked once (beatifully) before I was ready to migrate. Now that I’m ready it just doesn’t work. I’ve even re-installed wordpress and created a new db, but not seeing much luck.

    Scott

  20. bigscottyrogers Says:

    Howdy.

    “scottrogers” is the user name. Yes, I’m checking the hosted option. The WordPress (2.6) import page let’s me browse for the file and press the install button. The page that processes the XML file loads, but no processing takes place.

    I’ve tried on two separate machines running OS X and XP and a few different browsers. I’m thinking there’s an issue with my host.

    Thanks.

    Scott


  21. [...] Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress « Web 0.2 – Hao Chen Fresh off the press, just finished coding a tool to that will export all the posts in your Tumblr blog into an XML file. You can then import that XML file into your WordPress.com blog or self-hosted WordPress blog. (tags: tools wordpress) [...]

  22. dave Says:

    this is fantastic – great work!

  23. fog Says:

    Very nice work. Thanx.

    The click-though image links is a problem.


  24. [...] Here’s a tool to help you export Tumblr to WordPress:  Tumblr to WordPress Export Tool’ [...]

  25. alex okazaki Says:

    Nice work. However I couldn’t import videos properly.
    I lost the embeded video.
    tnx!

  26. Jay Says:

    Thank you, it works great :)

    One concern, though. New posts usually have three-digit post IDs (since I have about 600 WordPress posts). After importing my Tumblr backlog of about 50 posts, the post IDs have suddenly jumped to 8 digits! New WordPress posts continue in this fashion. Is this normal behaviour? If not, is there anything I can do about it? Thanks in advance!

  27. Hao Chen Says:

    @Jay It might be importing the post IDs from Tumblr. I have the source included on the page if you want to take a quick peek and make a mod. Maybe not setting the post ID will result in auto incrementing post IDs.

  28. Jay Says:

    Wow, thank you for your prompt reply! And yes, you are right, the long post IDs are indeed from Tumblr.

    I just took a look at the source code and unfortunately I am not very proficient at PHP.

    Would I accomplish not setting the post ID by removing the entire line which sets the post ID, such as this one?
    attributes()->id ?>

    I’m pretty sure it’s not that easy, lol. Just thought I’d ask before I give up. I wish I could just accept the fact that I now have really long post IDs, but I’m such a terrible neat freak. :s

  29. Hao Chen Says:

    Yeah, it quite possibly could be that easy (removing that entire line). However, even if you re-imported to WP, I’m not completely sure that it will reset WordPress’ post ID back to what is was originally. If that’s the case, one option might be to go directly into the MySQL database and do something like ‘alter table “table_name_with_posts” auto_increment=1′.

  30. Jay Says:

    Yay, I tested this on a test installation of WordPress, and omitting the lines really did the trick. :)

    It did indeed not reset the post IDs and I didn’t manage to fix this in the database. But it doesn’t matter. I have daily database backups for my blog so I just did a restore to the 3-digit era ;). I imported the Tumblr posts on Monday and didn’t notice the ID thing until last night, so I used Sunday night’s backup and only lost one blog post and a couple of comments (still have them in a backup so I might find a way to re-import them). It’s a tiny price to pay for having everything in once place now. :) Again, thank you.

  31. Hao Chen Says:

    You’re welcome. :)

  32. tomharrow Says:

    thank you so much for this little tool. I needed to export my tumblr to squarespace and this worked an absolute treat so thank you!
    -tom

    • Hao Chen Says:

      You’re very welcome, Tom!

    • mark Says:

      tom, any advice you can give?! ive been trying to find a way to import my old tumblr blog posts into squarespace…

    • tenya Says:

      Hey Tom,

      I found this comment through a google search as I was trying to find a way to export tumblr into squarespace. It seems you’ve been the only successful person. The link above doesn’t work anymore, do you mind providing details to how you made this happen? Thank you.


  33. Hao,

    Thanks! I’ve been looking for something like this for my site, http://www.darrenscorner.com. Much appreciated!

  34. mrrrty Says:

    Is there any way to do this so that every time I post something to Tumblr, it automatically goes straight to my WordPress, too?

  35. rika Says:

    Hi Hao, any ideas on why the imported timestamp would be a few hours off for every post?

    For example: a post from Tumblr on Apr 10th, 2009 2:58pm is showing up on Wordress as having been posted on “April 10, 2009, 5:58 pm.” The WordPress time is wrong.

    I’ve tried adjusting the timezone under WordPress’ Settings to compensate — multiple times, on multiple fresh installs, both before and after importing. Nothing I did made that time budge from 5:58 pm.

    In the actual XML for the exported Tumblr, pubDate is Fri, 10 Apr 2009 14:58:51 +0000, wp:post_date is 2009-04-10 17:58:51, and wp:post_date_gmt is 2009-04-10 21:58:51. So I guess it should be using pubDate, and it’s using wp:post_date instead?

    Unfortunately, manually editing is totally out of the question, either inside the XML or in WordPress. I’m importing 3,000 posts from Tumblr, and the times are are few hours offset on ALL of them.

    So, any thoughts? Thank you very much.

    • Hao Chen Says:

      @rika Hey, I would download the source code from http://code.google.com/p/tumblr2wordpress/ and play around with these three lines:


      <pubDate><?php echo $post->attributes()->date ?> +0000</pubDate>
      <wp:post_date><?php echo date('Y-m-d G:i:s', (double)$post->attributes()->{'unix-timestamp'}) ?></wp:post_date>
      <wp:post_date_gmt><?php echo str_replace(" GMT", "", $post->attributes()->{'date-gmt'}) ?></wp:post_date_gmt>

      You’ll need something that has PHP 5+. Lemme know if you find any bugs!

  36. rika Says:

    Thanks a lot!! I bashed my head over the problem for MANY hours, but tonight I finally got it working! Woo!

    One more question, then you’ll be free of me :D Would it be easy for you to cook up a code snippet that discerns the type of Tumblr post, and then puts it into a certain WordPress category based on Tumble type, instead of just Uncategorized?

    I ask because there’s a Tumblr imitation theme for WP, where the style of the post varies by WordPress category (just as it does for Tumblr post types). The categories it uses are: thoughts (for text), photos, quotes, links, video, conversations. Not sure if it’s too much work to ask of you, or if it’s even possible, but if the exporter could put Tumblr quote posts into a quotes category on WP, and photo posts into photos, etc., that would be AWESOME.

  37. Hao Chen Says:

    @rika Hahaha. Yeah, sure, I can do that. Give me a couple days.

  38. Adam Says:

    Thanks so much for this!! It came in handy.

  39. rika Says:

    Oh man, really? SWEET. Thank you so much for offering to do that! I’m overjoyed. Overjoyed as only a person who has been spared the task of manually reorganizing 3000 posts can be overjoyed. Can’t wait! I’ll be checking back very frequently.

    • Hao Chen Says:

      Hey! Sorry, it took me so long; Busy week…Anyway, here it is! Replace the getTags function with this new one:

      function getTags($post)
      {
      if($post->attributes()->type)
      {
      echo "attributes()->type . "]]>\n";
      echo "\t\tattributes()->type . "\">attributes()->type . "]]>\n";
      }
      else
      {
      echo "\n";
      echo "\t\t\n";
      }
      if($post->tag)
      {
      foreach($post->tag as $tag)
      {
      echo "\t\t\n";
      echo "\t\t\n";
      addTag((String)$tag);
      }
      }
      }

      If you don’t like the category names (ie. regular, photo, link, quote, video, audio, etc.), you can change them in WordPress after the import. Let me know if it works!

  40. cerentha39 Says:

    It’s not working for me. Is it because I am not self hosting?
    Cerentha

    • Hao Chen Says:

      What’s your Tumblr username? Is it the XML file that isn’t being generated or the import into WordPress that isn’t working? Also, there is a radio option box to choose between self hosted WP and WP.com.

      • cerentha39 Says:

        It’s so weird. The XML file gets generated (using cerentha@mac.com which is what I use to log into Tumblr). BUT the XML file contains someone else’s blog. I imported over 1000 posts of some guy’s blog into my wordpress blog and then had to delete it all!
        Help?
        Cerentha

  41. cerentha39 Says:

    I used thisisadesignblog and it worked a dream! Thank you so much. My final blog on Tumblr and my next WP post will be all about how great you are! Much much appreciated.
    Cerentha


  42. [...] didn’t want all that work to go to waste. Enter Hao Chen. What an awesome guy. He has written code to enable Tiumblr users to save their posts as an XML file so they can be transferred into WP. Not [...]

  43. thomaswhitley Says:

    Tool seems great, but can’t get it to work for me. When I open the XML file in a browser the only thing that shows up on the page is:

    Untitled http://gmail.tumblr.com/ Tue, 05 May 2009 22:59:56 -0400 http://haochen.me/tumblr/?v=0.1 en 1.0 http://gmail.tumblr.com/ http://gmail.tumblr.com/ uncategorized

    My tumblr username is thomasjoshuawhitley@gmail.com. I’ve tried it twice now with the same result.

    • Hao Chen Says:

      Hey, Thomas…Sorry ’bout that…I wrote bad directions. Try your Tumblr blog name (ie. xyz.tumblr.com) and not your email/username. I’ve changed the directions on the tool to match.


  44. [...] was about four months quicker than expected, due to this handy script. Posted by thomas on Sunday, May 10, 2009, at 1:53 am. Filed under Uncategorized. [...]

  45. burningst4r Says:

    wow. I love you. PERFECT!

  46. dalsr Says:

    THANK YOU

  47. danlittauer Says:

    Hello Hao,
    I managed to import my blog posts from my tumblr: http://www.danlittauer.tumblr.com
    So, great! Thank you for that!
    Is there a way I can import my theme or adapt it into wordpress?

    Thanks so much!

    • Hao Chen Says:

      You’re welcome! As far as I know, it’s possible to recreate Tumblr themes for WordPress, but takes manual effort porting the CSS over. Here’s a list of Tumblr-like themes for WordPress. http://wordpress.org/support/topic/235926

      • danlittauer Says:

        Helllo,
        I have a very strange problem; I have installed wordpress 2.8 on my host (www.agnosco.iblogger.org) and imported my posts in xml from my tumblr site (danlittauer.tumblr.org) – i have mixed language (english, hebrew, arabic, portuguese) posts and the non english ones came up with question marks… I have been unsuccessful at solving this even after reading docs in wordpress…

        The very strange thing is that when I imported it to the wordpress.com account it works (www.danlittauer.tumblr.com), how come?

        Are there any files I need to install on my host?

        Please help,

        Kind regards,

        Thanks,
        Dan

  48. saida Says:

    say we update our tumblr, will it also update our wordpress? or will we have to delete the xml file, redownload it, and reupload it

    thanks!
    I wish tehre was a tumblr plug in for wordpress because our wordpress posting doesn’t allow us to post things with html :(

    • Hao Says:

      No, sorry, it won’t update wordpress automatically. However, there might be a wordpress plugin that does cross posting if you keep digging around.

  49. Andy Wibbels Says:

    Heads up: If you have domain mapping on, it won’t work. Remove the mapping and re-try.

  50. thunderror Says:

    thanks a lot…that tool was so helpful!!!


  51. [...] This is my new personal blog! Posted in my life by thunderror on July 30, 2009 I’m back again blogging on wordpress.com after a long long time. I use the wordpress engine on my main blog. But then for a long time, tumblr has been my blogging engine of choice for my personal blog. That is, until today. But I didn’t want to let go off my posts..Thanks to Hao Chen’s Tumblr to WordPress import tool! [...]

  52. headphonesonly Says:

    The link seems to be broken? Do you still have this tool online? I would love to try it.


  53. [...] Porch, which I’ve moved off Tumblr and onto a WordPress installation with the aid of a handy export tool I found online. I may or may not stick with the current design; most of my attention so far has [...]

  54. Caley Says:

    Link doesn’t seem to be working again. It says the page cannot be displayed when I click on it.

    • Hao Says:

      Yeah, looks like there is some issue resolving DNS from Layerblue, my hosting company. None of their hosted sites are working right now.


  55. [...] August 26, 2009 in Uncategorized Thanks to Hao Chen for his directions on how to import my blog from Tumblr to WordPress — http://haochen.wordpress.com/2008/08/19/export-your-tumblr-blog-to-wordpress/ [...]


  56. Cool site, love the info.

  57. osez Says:

    hi, it doesn’t work correctly ,
    it created like 200 new categorys, one for each post. instead of putting all uncategorised posts in one. Had to delete post by post and category by category..

    i will continue to use http://beta.switchabit.com/ for new posts and forget the import i guess

  58. jonathan Says:

    Does this auto update? Or do i have to keep exporting a new XML file?

  59. Ricky Grove Says:

    Thanks for making this program. We switched our Tumblr blog to a new WordPress site in minutes without a hitch. Saved us hours of work. Much obliged.

  60. agrn310 Says:

    THANK YOU!!!!!!! You saved me from a lot of copying and pasting! lol

  61. talk2us Says:

    Hey — thanks for this.. we just used it to convert and dropped some money in your inbox! Very nice, saved me an hour and did a good job.

    If you want to try out our service for free, go to http://www.talk2.us/trial. Send in an email and reference this and we’ll bonus you another month. Thanks man!!

  62. Navjot Singh Says:

    Your method does not work if we are using custom domain on tumblr.

    Update instructions on your tool page that in such cases, use the corresponding old subdomain of tumblr.

  63. jimboeth Says:

    I keep getting “Service Unavailable”! Will it be back up soon? Thanks

  64. jimboeth Says:

    Hi, it worked – saved me loads of time. Seems to be the easiest way I’ve found, and the only way to do it this quickly.

    I have donated (sorry it’s not much!) and urge others to – we’re lucky to have this service for free.

    Thanks again, Hao!

  65. gagsylive Says:

    Excellent.Thanks a lot for the tool

  66. seethinkblog Says:

    What am I supposed to import it into through WordPress? There is no option for an XML import.

  67. geeknik Says:

    Service is unavailable. :(

  68. Sparkus Says:

    Any plans on getting this working again?

    • Hao Chen Says:

      what issue(s) are you having?

      • Sparkus Says:

        Nevermind. It worked for my on my home computer. I must have had a bad connection on the other one I was trying to use. Thanks for the quick response though. And thanks for the converter!

      • Sparkus Says:

        OK, new question. Any way to resize all image posts down to 500 px? All the photos it’s pulling from Tumblr are WAY too large. Tumblr would always auto-resize them down to fit your post.

      • Hao Chen Says:

        large image posts got you down? are all the images the same size or at least 500px wide or over? do you know how to code PHP? if you answered yes to these questions, then READ ON! introducing, the source code to Tumblr2Wordpress, FREE OF CHARGE in this limited time offer. by modifying it and adding a width=”500px” attribute to all IMG tags in image posts, you may be eligible to solve these enigmas that have taunted and teased bloggers since they’ve realized tumblr was just too simple for them. Try it RISK FREE, CALL NOW!

      • Nathan Lee Bush Says:

        I don’t know PHP so am I screwed? Is there no way to make this so it automatically resizes the images? This solution won’t work for me as I have a photoblog. (nathanleebush.tumblr.com to nathanleebush.wordpress.com). Is it possible to populate wordpress using my tumblr rss feed address?

      • detectx Says:

        PHP would def help. Are the images on WordPress too big or too small? RSS only contains most recent entries. PS. The photo URLs on your tumblr blog seem a little different…Did you do anything special to them?

      • Nathan Lee Bush Says:

        They are too big. It seems like it’s taking the original uploaded picture without resizing. Also, the images aren’t in the media library, don’t know if that matters.

        nathanleebush.wordpress.com

  69. styleeveryday Says:

    Sorry if this question has already been answered… I didn’t see it anywhere: will this delete posts from my Tumblr or only export them? I’d like to keep the posts live on my Tumblr while I get my new self-hosted WP set up.

    Thanks for a great tool!


  70. [...] Tumblr / How to Import Tumblr to WordPress [...]


  71. [...] também precisar fazer uma importação dessas é só clicar aqui que tem uma ferramenta pra [...]

  72. Alwyn Says:

    Thank you Hao! It worked like a charm! Beautiful!!!!

  73. Parneix Says:

    It works like a charm. The only issue I can see is with quotes. Whereas photos are imported in WordPress without title (there isn’t any title in Tumblr), quotes a imported with a title : the quote itself is used as a title, and then reproduce again as the content of the post. Is there a way to fix this.

    Amazing plugin. Took ten minutes to import (with tags!) around 1400 posts. Two years of “work”. Thanks a lot.

  74. mkay42484 Says:

    After I select WordPress and choose the xml file, it tells me I need a WordPress WXR file to upload. Any ideas?

  75. mkay42484 Says:

    Hey wait a minute, it did work! I should have never questioned! Many thanks.

  76. Parneix Says:

    Hi again,

    I did manage to fix the quote problem using the truncate function in php.

    I have another question for you. I notice that this importer doesn’t import media. It links to Tumblr servers where the media are hosted.

    If I uploaded a picture on Tumblr, and then import this post to wordpress, the picture is hotlinked to Tumblr’s servers. It is not hosted on WordPress.

    Would there be a way to fix that? Or should I go with a HTML import/export solution (like using Tumblr backup utility)?

    Thanks a lot,

    P.

  77. swathi Says:

    hey…used ur tool..i have comments on tumblr using disqus.Please tell me how i can import them to my wordpress…

  78. Gareth Says:

    Hi Hao,

    I am trying to export to a new self hosted site on WordPress and have tried to use your handy tool except it doesn’t seem to work for me. THis is the message I get, any suggestions?

    The XML page cannot be displayed
    Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later.
    ________________________________________
    Whitespace is not allowed at this location. Error processing resource ‘file:///C:/Users/Gareth/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Wind…

    Sorry to be a pain but I have tried several times and being non technical dont understand what the above message is asking to remedy.

  79. susyDoutt Says:

    Понравилась, прочитала тут крохотнуюно от этого не менее интересную публикацию :
    н настолько мал, что о нем мало кто знает. Дальше за Алушттой – пгт Рыбачье и т.д. – тоже много бесплатных пляжей;
    КРЫМ ЛУЧШИЙ

  80. Lucas Says:

    Just a wonderful script, I want to change to wordpress because of the functions. My blog grow’d up and now I need to change

  81. madeline d. murray Says:

    Beautiful and easy and a reason to be cheerful.
    Thank you, sir.


  82. Thanks for making this, I am excited to test it out.
    I am getting an error when I click your link:

    Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\Index.php on line 78

    If you have a chance and can fix it up, I’d appreciate it.
    Thanks!

  83. zweibeinrad Says:

    Thank you!

  84. Katrina Says:

    Love you for this. Thank you so much!

  85. thatsteeze Says:

    I DL’d the XML file and am trying to import it in WordPress. It will start the import but will eventually time out and say:

    “The webpage at http://thatsteeze.wordpress.com/wp-admin/admin.php?import=wordpress&step=1&_wpnonce=8cb0194139 might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.”

    • thatsteeze Says:

      I have tried many times, turned off custom domain mapping, tried different browsers…still will not work. Import seems to time out. Plz help

      • Hao Says:

        Do you have a lot of posts? Break up the downloaded XML file into a few different sections and import each one. Just make sure when you break them up, to include the header stuff and any closing tags (make sure it’s valid XML).

  86. thatsteeze Says:

    HaHa! nevermind! I got it to work. Went on my Mac and it worked in like 5 seconds….MAC FTW…and thanks Hao…great script


  87. This is perfect, thank you so much. The fact that it’s pretty easy to do is a bonus.

  88. Herman Groenenboom Says:

    Awesome. Thanks a lot for this!


  89. [...] Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress (via Web 0.2 – Hao Chen) Filed under: thefirstdark by thefirstdark — Leave a comment November 15, 2010 Fresh off the press, just finished coding a tool to that will export all the posts in your Tumblr blog into an XML file. You can then import that XML file into your WordPress.com blog or self-hosted WordPress blog. Please leave a comment here if you have questions, suggestions, feedback, requests, and/or bug reports. Tumblr2WordPress: Export Your Tumblr To WordPress … Read More [...]


  90. Thanks so much for this, Hao! We’ve just moved over from Tumblr and this was the perfect tool to aid us.

  91. Steven M. Says:

    Hello. I am all ready to move my posts but continue to get the error:

    “Warning: file_get_contents(http://passingperception.tumblr.com/api/read?start=50&num=50) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 75

    Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Exception’ with message ‘String could not be parsed as XML’ in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php:76 Stack trace: #0 C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php(76): SimpleXMLElement->__construct(”) #1 {main} thrown in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 76″

    I am totally stuck. I would be very grateful for help. Thank you.

    Steve

    • detectx Says:

      Yeah, looks like a bug. I’m looking into it. Will update soon.

    • Hao Says:

      Alright, man – try it now!

      • Steven M. Says:

        Thank you Hao. I appreciate the response. I got all excited but all I get so far today is the tumblr over capacity error. I will keep trying.

        “Tumblr API Request Failed

        Requesting a set of posts from the Tumblr API failed. See below for debugging output.

        Error was
        Request URL
        http://passingperception.tumblr.com/api/read?start=0&num=50
        Posts fetched (so far)
        0
        Last API response

        We’ll be back shortly

        <body onload="if (top != self) document.write('’);”>

        We’ll be back shortly.

        Our servers are over capacity and certain pages may be temporarily unavailable.  We’re incredibly sorry for the inconvenience.

        Curl Info

        Array
        (
        [url] => http://passingperception.tumblr.com/api/read?start=0&num=50
        [content_type] => text/html; charset=UTF-8
        [http_code] => 503
        [header_size] => 242
        [request_size] => 116
        [filetime] => -1
        [ssl_verify_result] => 0
        [redirect_count] => 0
        [total_time] => 0.072004
        [namelookup_time] => 0
        [connect_time] => 0.036002
        [pretransfer_time] => 0.036002
        [size_upload] => 0
        [size_download] => 1302
        [speed_download] => 18082
        [speed_upload] => 0
        [download_content_length] => 1302
        [upload_content_length] => 0
        [starttransfer_time] => 0.072004
        [redirect_time] => 0
        )”

      • Steven M. Says:

        Sometimes it gets as far as saying
        “Posts fetched (so far)
        150″
        or sometimes 100, but the main error is still always the same.

      • Steven M. Says:

        I apologize for taking up all this space here. I got confused.

        The “servers over capacity” errors (no matter how many dozens of times I try it, sometimes it gets to 250 posts but never more and usually fewer)like the one I posted above are actually what I get when I use the version by Ben Ward – http://benapps.net/

        When I try yours- http://haochen.me/tumblr/

        I still get this:

        Warning: file_get_contents(http://passingperception.tumblr.com/api/read?start=0&num=50) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 75

        Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Exception’ with message ‘String could not be parsed as XML’ in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php:76 Stack trace: #0 C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php(76): SimpleXMLElement->__construct(”) #1 {main} thrown in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 76

        If you can get this to work I will give you a donation. Sincerely.

        Steve

      • Hao Chen Says:

        I think Tumblr downtime/heavy usage is causing this error. Try every now and then or during odd hours. I’ll email you know if I get your blog to export myself.

  92. Steve M. Says:

    Thank you for your help and advice. I got all 800 posts moved. I sent you a donation. I am also baselinebuysell@gmail.com In the end I did just have to wait for a less busy time for tumblr to allow enough seconds to get my info out.

    Have a great holiday.

    Steve

  93. Adam Says:

    Hello Hao

    I’m just getting in touch to see if you might be able to help me. I used your script to export this tumblr: http://heavyhymns.tumblr.com/

    I used the importer plugin to import the xml file to my self-hosted wordpress blog.

    I suspect I might have done something wrong w/ permalinks or something b/c now I can’t make posts or delete posts in my wordpress backend – I get a 500 Internal Error. Have you seen anything like this before?

    • detectx Says:

      No, I haven’t heard of that before. Did you change any other settings since the import? Did the import itself succeed?

      • Adam Says:

        The import did succeed. I can see all 40 tumblr posts in the wordpress backend. They are all set as published. BUT, none of them can be seen on the site. I can’t delete them either.

        Also, the site is working fine on the front end. …weird!

      • detectx Says:

        I thought the backend wasn’t working? Which page exactly gives the 500 error?

  94. Brian Says:

    I am running into the same issues that Adam describes above. Trying to export all the posts from my Tumblr (skatehousemedia.com / skatehousemedia.tumblr.com), which I did without issue. Set up my WordPress installation fine on my server. When I select the XML file to import, WordPress gives me no errors but ignores most of my posts when importing and then seems very “broke.” Trying to delete any posts results in a 500 error, basically my WordPress installation becomes useless until I delete it and re-install.

    Any idea what could be causing this behavior?

    • Craig Says:

      I’ve been having this same problem… Has anyone been able to fix it?

      And thanks Hao! I’m excited to get this working.

  95. battle4net Says:

    thanx for the great support.

  96. njbpics Says:

    Thanks so much for this, Hao! This is great. My export was successful. Thanks again!

  97. Sherilyn Says:

    hey may i know how to change the file to XML file?

  98. seahhan Says:

    i’ve save all files. where do i import it at wordpress?

  99. nazo400 Says:

    Seems very selective with tumblr.
    On one hand, it pulled my tumbelog/2nd blog into a xml file with no problems. On the flip side both versions of this exporter refuse to export my primary blog. My primary is whereismydoctor.tumblr.com
    I keep on getting the following:
    Warning: file_get_contents() [function.file-get-contents]: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: No such host is known. in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 76

    Warning: file_get_contents(http://http://WhereIsMyDoctor.tumblr.com.tumblr.com/api/read?start=0&num=50) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: No such host is known. in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 76

    Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Exception’ with message ‘String could not be parsed as XML’ in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php:77 Stack trace: #0 C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php(77): SimpleXMLElement->__construct(”) #1 {main} thrown in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 77

  100. mammaren Says:

    It’s not working for me at all.

  101. mammaren Says:

    I entered my tumblr id: swimbikeren

    this was the result.

    Warning: file_get_contents(http://swimbikeren.tumblr.com.tumblr.com/api/read?start=0&num=50) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 76

    Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Exception’ with message ‘String could not be parsed as XML’ in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php:77 Stack trace: #0 C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php(77): SimpleXMLElement->__construct(”) #1 {main} thrown in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 77

  102. djmakx Says:

    This was extremely helpful!

  103. June Says:

    hey there.
    I would like to export a tumblr blog into another new tumblr blog.

    Could u teach me?

  104. Mark Waters Says:

    Thanks so much for this script and making it Open Source too!

    Now I can safely play with Tumblr.

  105. imagineit1 Says:

    Thank you so much! Finally something that works!

  106. Ashley Says:

    I am trying to convert from Tumblr to WordPress and when I try to export the page says, “This page contains the following errors: error on line 1054 at column 192: Encoding error.” Is there any way to fix this?

  107. aharpe Says:

    Any suggestions? Thanks for your help!

  108. A Says:

    FAILED :((
    This page contains the following errors:

    error on line 32 at column 12: AttValue: ” or ‘ expected
    Below is a rendering of the page up to the first error.

  109. foodfreeme Says:

    This is an awesome tool. Thanks!!

  110. ikechukwu onyema Says:

    it worked!

  111. mouzee99 Says:

    Thank you so much, this worked like a dream! So easy once I stopped making it harder than it was!

  112. Antoinetoine Says:

    Hi,
    Thanks, really great tool!
    However, I have an issue as my content is in French. I have accents in the post title (in wordpress) that are converted to code. For example, “é” is converted to “%25C3%25A9″.
    Do you guys have any solution for this problem?
    Thanks!


  113. i completed the process, get .xml and upload to wordpress, and it worked well, but only for my most recent post. i tested by posting three times on my tumblr but it does not export. also, i do not have the ability to see any of my past tumblr posts, (however, on my wordpress dashboard, it notes that i have hundreds of links that correlate to my tumblr posts).

    i dont get it. thanks will be regarded with warm feelings of gratitude.

  114. jakehabitan Says:

    THANKS!

  115. really Says:

    is it down?


  116. Can somebody help, I type in the name of my tumblr blog and press export then it downloads something. Do I press open or save? When I press open it says it failed. How do we use this tool?

  117. peter Says:

    Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Exception’ with message ‘String could not be parsed as XML’ in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php:77 Stack trace: #0 C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php(77): SimpleXMLElement->__construct(”) #1 {main} thrown in C:\web\vhosts\haochen.me\httpdocs\tumblr\index.php on line 77

  118. bsetter Says:

    All of the non-text Tumblr posts are importing in such a way that the caption of the Tumblr posts ends up importing as the title of the WordPress post rather than as the content of the WP post and that throws WP for a loop. Is there a way to have the tool grab Tumblr captions as the post content in WP rather than the title?

    • Hao Chen Says:

      Yes. How’s your PHP chops? Download the source and hack a few lines of code. Put it on the Internet. I’ll praise you and link to your tool for everyone else who has the same problem.

      Sent from my phone


  119. [...] Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress « Web 0.2 – Hao Chen [...]

  120. - Says:

    This is a fantastic read for my situation, Should say that you are the most impressive folks AS I by chance spotted. With thanks to get placing this short article.


  121. It’s refreshing to find a blog that actually contains useful advice Thank you.


  122. [...] Here’s a tool to help you export Tumblr to WordPress:  Tumblr to WordPress Export Tool’ [...]

  123. Sims 3 Says:

    You are now able to fully use the site’s community features. Decide on the possibility Present concealed information, folders and drives. Assassin’s Creed:
    Revelations.

  124. Kenneth Says:

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, except before finish I am reading this enormous piece of writing to increase my knowledge.


  125. “Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress Web 0.
    2 – Hao Chen” ended up being a wonderful post and
    also I really was indeed extremely happy to read the blog post.

    I appreciate it-Sadye


  126. Regards for composing “Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress Web 0.
    2 – Hao Chen”. I personallywill definitely end up being
    back again for a lot more browsing and commenting soon enough.
    Thank you, Jade


  127. This specific blog, “Export your Tumblr blog to WordPress Web 0.

    2 – Hao Chen” was amazing. I’m creating out a backup to present to
    my personal close friends. Thanks for your time,Meagan


  128. Useful info. Lucky me I found your website accidentally, and
    I am stunned why this coincidence didn’t came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

  129. http://.com/ Says:

    Jeesus Kerist… that was genuinely a good read.
    So very few websites provide me with the info I’m looking for. Superb template and layout too. Book marked. I shall be back.

  130. Ainoa Castro Says:

    Enhorabuena por tu ortografia. Un beso!

  131. Adrian Says:

    Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing,
    great written and come with approximately all vital infos.
    I would like to see more posts like this .


  132. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your site?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?


  133. Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.


  134. Embracing the latest technology to remain competitive, industrial design, you must offer their customers convenient and less time to process.
    s Sissy sandal is a long-time classic favorite style
    and is available in a variety of colors and fabrics including Veg-Tan and crinkle patent leather.
    Custom House Plans Design for a variety of clients at Auto
    - CAD Drafting India has massive experience.

  135. nitric oxide Says:

    If some one needs expert view regarding blogging after that i recommend him/her to go to see this weblog, Keep up the good job.


  136. Hello, I do think your web site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues.
    I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Aside from that, excellent website!


  137. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a
    lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a
    bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  138. read this Says:

    Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!


  139. In addition, The Muscle Maximizer comes with a complete 9 week workout program for you to follow
    so you now have everything you need to get started right away and achieve the
    level of fitness you”. To find out if it is actually true and
    to understand better if Kyle Leon’s system is generally for you or not, let’s look into
    a few of the benefits and drawbacks of the product.
    It will never feature large degrees of filler information, or even lengthy explanations.


  140. Article writing is also a fun, if you know then you can write otherwise it
    is difficult to write.

  141. procera avh Says:

    So rather than strolling at a continuous speed for say an hour, you’d alter things up by alternating brief bursts of intense strolling for say a minute followed by a recovery period with slower strolling right after every intense time period. Just continue to keep alternating for twenty minutes to start and include time as you become far more match. You may use interval training with all phases in theprocera avh to enhance your results.

    Also when you do any kind of workout it is actually strongly proposed that you simply drink tons of water before through and right after to keep your system properly hydrated.

  142. tattoo Says:

    The males tattoo their arms, chest, back, shoulders and face
    elaborately. Tattoo kits for sale and Cheap tattoo kits for beginners for tattoo art.
    You can practice tattooing by experimenting with as many mediums as you can.


  143. Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to understand so
    much approximately this, such as you wrote the e-book in it or
    something. I believe that you could do with a few percent to force the message house a
    bit, but instead of that, that is excellent blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.


  144. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people about this subject, but you seem like
    you know what you’re talking about! Thanksstreetdirectory


  145. I have fun with, result in I discovered just what I was taking a look for.

    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye


  146. Even ifNfl Jerseys avoids surgery, the Knicks must hope that the injury does not diminish his performance.
    Celebrating tactile correspondence and continuing the tradition of mail art Transitions is an exhibition that goes on the road or
    even from the highways. Of Old Lyme, in the history of a site that not only changed the town, but helped shape the world.


  147. Best known for sunglasses, Nfl Jerseys prescription glasses are
    becoming the number one choice for outdoor sports or simply just enjoying the sun outside.
    Insisto, es usted imbcil, y sinvergenza. Excellent allpurpose
    lens offering truer color perceptionin sunny conditions.
    The innovation that is characteristic of thenfl
    jerseys brand with high performers is one of the things that have been the beneficiaries, streaking to their best start since the 1980-81 season.

  148. Cube World Says:

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new posts.

  149. the quinn condo Says:

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who had been doing a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me lunch simply because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this subject here on your web site.


  150. This piece of writing will assist the internet users for creating new website or even a weblog from start to end.


  151. It’s amazing for me to have a website, which is helpful for my know-how. thanks admin


  152. continuously i used to read smaller articles or reviews which as well
    clear their motive, and that is also happening
    with this post which I am reading here.


  153. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of
    space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site.

    Reading this info So i am happy to express that I
    have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed.
    I most indisputably will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this website and give it
    a look regularly.

  154. Freddie Says:

    In the event that items aren’t used usually you can push it rear to as soon as each and every 2 or three months, however always do it often enough that the measure build up isn’t however
    visable after you clean up the product. you may find an estimated
    this the couple of means first recently there is the option in order to dilute
    the espresso along with drinking water otherwise second when like me you
    see espresso just a tiny bit too powerful you possibly can prepare it the Spanish
    method.


  155. I believe that is among the so much significant information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But want to
    commentary on few normal issues, The web site style is ideal,
    the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  156. Johna740 Says:

    Hahahahahahaha, this politics related YouTube video is actually so comic, I liked it. Thanks in support of sharing this. kdcfddaaeadk


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,327 other followers

